Regarding that awful fat shaming post on Facebook

A friend has been trying to convince her friends that the post in the image below is not helpful or healthy. I though I would deconstruct it with my usual tact and equanimity…stupid

To the fat shaming post that continues to show up on Facebook,

There’s something you should know: You f**ing suck.

Every shallow patronising message you write, you carry the weight of society’s lack of tolerance, clinging to your superficial beliefs, begging to be taken seriously as an ally or supporter.

Each lap I run, is none of your f**cking business. I’m not paying off any debt any more than you are. I’m exercising, motherf*cker, just like anyone else, and it doesn’t entitle you to judge me, my diet, my appearance or anything about me..

It’s 20 degrees outside, but it will be a cold day in hell before your patronising message is in any way acceptable.

This isn’t the first time someone has mistakenly thought their so called opinion about my weight matters, and it certainly won’t be the last. You’ve started a journey that lasts a lifetime, and that journey is not what you think it is. That’s right, I’m talking about a journey to some place where people who don’t fit society’s norms are not dependent on your approval for motivation. Where people don’t need a guilt trip couched in encouragement.

I don’t give a damn if you run with or without music, but I can only imagine the mantras running through your mind as you impose your opinions on me and my activities. Let’s go, pity. Speak up, person who apparently has the right to comment on me publicly. F**k off, any concept of accepting people for who they are rather than what they look like.

If you’d only look up some facts about fat shaming, about obesity, about societal norms and privilege, you’d see your message has a metric tonne of condescension in it.

I have nothing for you. If you think respecting me is such a great concept, that speaks volumes about the usual intolerance I deal with. You’ve got to stop doing this.

 

Leave a Reply

